moving on from my cooking failure

7 Feb

Undeterred by my stupendous failure in the kitchen on Sunday (see my last post) i decided to kick it up a notch in the kitchen tonight.  I’ve been on a bit of an exercise kick since the start of the year and although i’ve been being vaguely healthy in my eating (jelly babies are healthy right?!?) i’ve probably neglected that side of things a little.  So inspired by all the fresh goodies hubby had purchased this afternoon i cooked up a storm and i really had to share the beauty (i’ve just noticed that the plate has a big chip on it – that’s what you get for paying £17 for your dinner service!!!):

mmmmmm........

This was baked chicken with a spicy topping, couscous, roasted veg and a salad.  Yum yum.  I’m not exactly sure what these salad leaves are but they are very tasty – quite peppery.

Just goes to show you’ve got to get straight back on that bike when you fall off!

I’m not one for calorie counting or food grouping (way too lazy for all that kind of thing) so i rely on just eating in moderation things that i believe are healthy.  Nothing is banned as such but i try to steer away from the obvious things like mayo and chips.  I don’t like to eat too much “artificial” food so i’d rather eat a little bit of butter than margarine (ugh).  I also drink full fat coke (albeit not very often) instead of diet.  When i was younger i was very strict about what i ate and as a consequence i was a lot skinnier but now i figure life is waaaay to short not to eat pizza now and then.

If you’ve any healthy recipes to share please ping them my way.  I’m already pinning lots that i’ve seen on other blogs and can’t wait to try them all out.

Leave a Reply

