out with the old…

9 Mar

The other day I downloaded a free App for my iPhone.  It’s called C25K and it promises to have me running 5K in 8 weeks.  I’ve run on and off for a couple of years now but lately its been more off than on.  There’s never any real structure to my runs – i tend to go out, run until i’m exhausted, then come home.  As a result i’ve never run more than about 7K and i never get anywhere particularly fast so i decided to start from scratch again.  If this works out then i hope to move up to 10K.

The home page of the app looks like this:

A voice tells you when to warm up, when to walk, when to run and when to cool down.  It works with your music so you can listen to your favourite tracks at the same time.  I’ve only used it once but so far I’m impressed.  Plus its free.  You can’t argue with that right?

In order to protect my knees (and to add a bit of style to my motion) i’ve invested in some new trainers as the old ones were, well, old.  Can you tell which ones i’ve had for 7 years???

I’m pretty sure i won’t get run over in those, they’re pretty damn bright.

Well i’m off to meet my friends for birthday celebrations (not mine!).  Enjoy your Friday night and here’s to an awesome weekend x

ps in terms of running gadgets on the wishlist is the Garmin Forerunner but its such a lot of money.  If i keep up with this running plan then i might allow myself one just so i can start boring you all solid with mile times and distance!!

Leave a Reply

