the joy of new foods

17 Mar

Lately i’ve been trying to introduce new healthier foods into my life.  This week was the turn of quinoa.  For those of you not familiar it’s apparently pronounced “keen-wah” and those friendly folks over at Wikipedia tell me it’s not a grain at all but rather a seed.  It looks like this before it’s cooked:

It is often touted as a super food and has a slightly higher protein content than other grains.  Wikipedia also says Quinoa grains contain essential amino acids like lysine and good quantities of calcium, phosphorus, and iron.  Can’t be bad huh?  So last night I boiled some up with some Bouillion, pepper and paprika.  Once cooked i stirred in roast veggies (courgette, onion and aubergine) and a splash of balsamic vinegar.  It was yummy and even John liked it and he’s picky.  It’s hard to describe – not quite cous cous or rice – it looks sloppy but it still has a crunch.  I guess the key is to add lots of flavour.  Now I can’t wait to try out this recipe for zesty quinoa cakes.

Lately i’ve also been trying out Chia seeds.  I bought this packet from Holland & Barrett:

They are not cheap though!  I think this packet was about £13!  However, if you read as many fitness blogs as i do you’ll know these are the it thing to eat.  Plus i reckon this pack is going to last ages.  The seeds themselves are pretty much flavourless and can be added to soups, salads, cereal etc.  I add them to my porridge every morning.  Wikipedia to the rescue again… the seeds apparently are rich in omega-3 fatty acids, since the seeds yield 25–30% extractable oil, including α-linolenic acid.  Phew!!  I usually get very dry skin in the winter but so far that’s been kept at bay this year.  It might be the mild winter or it may be the seeds.  Who knows but i think i’ll keep eating them.

Have you tried any new foods recently?

This morning i rocked this Bodyrock workout and this St Paddy’s day love handle workout.  Feeling great now and off to enjoy my St Paddy’s day x

3 Responses to “the joy of new foods”

  1. Dr Ken Romeo March 17, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    The minute I saw quinoa I liked it. When I cooked it (much the same way that you did minus the paprika–great idea though), I fell in love with it!
    What a wonderful health food. I’ll try the paprika next time.
    Thanks

  2. findingwonderwoman April 7, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    I love quinoa, can’t believe I haven’t thought of paprika and roast veggies though. Thanks for the tip – it sounds pretty fabulous. You might want to shop around for the chia seeds – that sounds really expensive to me. They’re super cheap here (Australia), but maybe they’re new in your part of the world?

    • dawninwonderland April 8, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Thanks – yes we’re only just getting in on the Chia trend over here so the seeds are quite hard to find. Hopefully we will catch up with everyone else soon!!

Leave a Reply

