jazz and monkeys

7 Apr

Last weekend John and I spent a long weekend in Jersey, in the Channel Islands, for the Jersey Jazz festival.  We had such an amazing time.  Jersey advertises itself as the sunniest place in the British Isles and the weather was much obliging…it was beautiful.  Sea was flat and calm for the boat trip too.

The hotel we booked into was the base for most of the jazz so very convenient but in itself not much to write home about.  The jazz on the other hand was brilliant.  I am by no means a “muso” (as my husband would verify!!) and don’t consider myself a huge jazz fan but there were some awesome bands – two favourites being Dennis “Badbone” Rollins and Velocity Trio (sooooo funky) and The Linley Weir Trio.  You should check them out.

As well as the jazz we really explored Jersey.  We didn’t get up early enough to hit breakfast at the hotel (hey … we were on holiday) but we found this fab little coffee shop called Bean Around the World where i had banana waffles and a cup of tea.  Britain hasn’t embraced the waffle like the US has and we so should.  I’d eat this everyday if (a) i could and (b) it wouldn’t make me the size of a house within weeks!

Ok now i couldn’t turn this picture over so here is my gravity defying waffles…hehe!  I so should have brushed up on some techy skills before i started a blog eh?

The main highlight of the weekend had to be a trip to Durrell (Jersey zoo).  This is not just any zoo, it’s more a conservation centre where they breed endangered species.  It’s such a wonderful place – now one of my favourites on earth.  The best bit was that during August a baby Macaque was born.  The mother was very obliging and brought the baby right out in front of us.  I only took pictures on my film SLR so you’re going to have to wait to see that little cutie I’m afraid.

On the Monday we hired bikes and cycled for hours.  Let me tell you Jersey is very hilly (very, very hilly) but it has some spectacular scenery and some gorgeous beaches.

After the weekend’s excesses i’m already back on the healthkick.  I’ll be out the door shortly for day 2 of week 4 of C25K.  This week is hard as it includes whole 5 minute running segments.  Eeek.  I’m very motivated for my 5K next month though and i can’t wait to get those trainers back on my feet.

Have you been anywhere nice recently?  

I hope you’re enjoying your long Easter weekend x

Leave a Reply

