let’s talk about cancer…

8 Apr

ok i want to get serious for one little post so please bear with me.

Cancer is a b*tch!  This week my beautiful, warm, funny, kind and much, much to young aunty lost her 18 month battle with cancer and my family and i are understandably devastated.  Sometimes in my melancholy moments i feel like cancer is picking off my loved ones like a sniper in the bushes and i am powerless to do anything about it.  Two months after we were married last year my hubby was diagnosed with a rare type of lymphoma, thankfully he recently successfully completed his treatment.  My grandpa died of pancreatic cancer within only 3 months of being diagnosed.  My wonderful colleague Pearl passed away from lung cancer.  My husbands niece is currently in hospital undergoing her treatment.  And there are countless others…

However, it is pretty pointless getting melancholy and angry and instead i’ve given myself a good talking to and i’m going to use this as a huge kick up the a** motivation and inspiration wise.  These are lessons i’m trying to take forward for myself:

* live a healthy life.  Many times John was told that having health and youth on his side was such a plus during his cancer treatment.  Well i can’t do anything about the youth bit but its important to stay as healthy as possible, not just for yourself but so that you can stick around for your loved ones for as long as possible and be strong for them.

* but you also have to live a happy life and it needs to be as fun filled as possible.  So you want a beer in the sunshine … have one.  Have that fairy cake and while you’re at it make sure you lick the last of all that cream cheese frosting.  Just do it in moderation (see first point) and while you’re at it do all the other things you’ve always wanted to do.

* spend more time with the ones you love and make sure they know they are the ones you love.  Cheesy i know but soooooo true.

* i’m also now hugely motivated to train for my 5K next month which is in aid of Cancer Research UK.  Get involved!  I’ll be keeping my eye out for many more.

In short just go out and enjoy your life!!

Sorry for the sappy post – i promise the next one will be back to normal.  Sadly the statistics are that everyone reading this will most likely have been touched by cancer so i’m sure you’ll be able to relate.

Enjoy your Easter Sunday and make sure you feel absolutely no guilt about those choccy eggs! x

4 Responses to “let’s talk about cancer…”

  1. Stacey April 8, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    I feel exactly the same, i keep healthy and positive and it will be my 3rd Race For Life this year and i can’t wait! It’s amazing to spend the day with so many inspirational people. Hope you all feel better soon after such a bad time, sending happy thoughts 🙂

    • dawninwonderland April 8, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      thank you Stacey that’s really kind. The atmosphere at Race for Life is amazing and i can’t wait to be a part of it. I hope you enjoy your race.

  2. Janet April 10, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    So true, we should enjoy life as it happens. My aunt died of cancer last year and one of my colleagues was just diagnosed with cancer. Back in 2010 I changed my life because I felt that there might not be too much time left for me if I didn’t change then. I am still moving forward on my path to a healthier weight and better health alltogether. I hope you will do good in preparing for thie 5K. Keep it up!

    • dawninwonderland April 10, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words Janet – I’m sorry for your loss. Congratulations on sticking with your healthy changes for two years. That’s very inspirational!

Leave a Reply

