overnight oats

16 Apr

Last night i made overnight oats.  Now i know this isn’t a new thing but it’s new to me ok?  I’m so not trendy when it comes to my breakfast choices.  I eat porridge most weekday mornings.   Occasionally i push the boat out and enjoy a bowl of bran flakes!  I can’t really be inventive at that time of the morning so it’s almost always porridge with some kinda milk, chia seeds and some kind of fruit.  It works so i don’t mess.  Weekends are different – i’m all over the pancakes, eggs etc when i’ve got the time and i’ve shaken off the morning fuzziness.

Last night i decided to go all out and try something new (well, basically cold porridge).  The trick is to soak your oats in pretty much anything, mix it with pretty much anything and leave overnight.  It’s then all ready for you to eat the next day.  I tried half water half hazelnut milk.  Hazelnut milk is my new thing – if you haven’t tried it you’ve got to – it kinda tastes like nutella.  Yum!  I digress…then i added chia seeds, cinnamon and a whole bunch of frozen berries.  Before i went to bed it looked like this:

Then when i got up this morning it looked like this:

Don’t worry i didn’t leave the spoon in.  It was nice but those berries were seriously tart.  I should have tried them first.  I think i’ll be going back to good old fashioned porridge tomorrow.

This weekend i finished the cowl i’d been knitting.  It’s made with cashmere wool so its super soft.  I love it, although not quite winter any more so i don’t know how much wear i’ll get out of it:

I’m quite impressed that i actually finished something.  Huzzah for me!  Now what to make next…I’m hoping to make a skirt on my sewing machine so i’ll let you know how that goes.

Do you have any fab ideas for spicing up (maybe not literally) oats?  Let me know your breakfast secrets.  I’m still searching for that elusive breakfast that will keep me full until lunch.

Must go now as my lovely hubby is just finishing my dinner!

4 Responses to “overnight oats”

  1. fairyhealthylife April 21, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    I’ve never tried hazelnut milk! My new mission! 🙂

    • dawninwonderland April 21, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      it’s soooo good. It was on special offer one day and i was suckered right in!

  2. Tammy April 27, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Great job on the cowl! Those are probably my favorite thing to knit since they can be knit up fairly quickly. I can usually make one in a day (on the weekend). I have knitting ADD, so I can’t seem to concentrate on a project if it takes forever. LOL!!

    • dawninwonderland April 27, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      wow you knit fast girl! This took me a few days but i’m quite out of practice. I’m with you on the ADD – there’s a half knitted leg warmer around here somewhere…

Leave a Reply

