new sunnies and week 5 of c25k done

19 Apr

last weekend i purchased new sunglasses.  the weather has subsequently turned very, very rubbish here.  the two may or may not be connected.

I’d had my eye on these Oakley’s for a long time but due to the price tag i just couldn’t decide…

one electricity bill rebate later and i finally decided to get them (well it is also my birthday next week).  They are from Oakley’s active range so they have grips on the nose and bits that go on your ears.  No idea what the techy terms are for these things but in a nutshell – they don’t fall off your face when you’re sweating like a pig in a heat wave!!  They don’t seem to fog up either.

I tested the glasses on a bike ride and a run and so far so good.  I like to think i look like a VIP in these.  I would suggest most sane people think differently!

I finished week 5 of c25k yesterday.  The last day i had to run 20 minutes straight which i was a bit nervous about but i managed it.  Actually i did stop briefly when someone’s puppy jumped all over me and a second time to blow my nose but after discussing this with my husband we concluded that (a) this wasn’t cheating and (b) i’m a nutcase for even asking!  So tomorrow it’s the start of week 6.  It looks like the runs become longer in time now so that should be interesting.  As i’m using the iphone app i don’t tend to look ahead much – i just do what it tells me to everytime i go out.  I think this is for the best for me personally, taking it one day at a time.

The weird thing is i actually enjoy running now!  And i look forward to the next one!  Who’da thunk it!

6 Responses to “new sunnies and week 5 of c25k done”

  1. Blackwood Lady April 20, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    So glad you are getting to the ‘looking forward to it’ stage of running, because it can be such a chore when you’re first just getting used to it! Well done for sticking with the program and now finding the joy in it!
    And congrats on 20 minutes continuous!! Big High Five!!

  2. Amber April 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Congrats on run! It only gets better from here:)

  3. Tammy April 27, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    LOVE those sunglasses! Hmm…I might have to put those on my rewards list. It’s really great to hear that you are enjoying running. I’m just starting out on week 1 and, like you, I’m just taking it one day at a time. But I’m also finding myself looking forward to my next outing, so that’s a good sign. Keep up the great work!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. C25k: Week 2 Day 2 « Simply. Madly. Me. - May 3, 2012

    […] of goals, I think I found a reward that I REALLY want to work towards.  After seeing her awesome sunglasses, I decided to be like Dawn and treat myself to a new pair of sunglasses that I can wear anytime, […]

Leave a Reply

