never before has a girl asked for more

2 May

This week I have had a revelation in overnight oats! Regular readers of my blog and stalkers of mine will know my life long dream is to find the perfect breakfast.  Many search for ultimate truth, the meaning of the universe, the holy grail, i want a delicious breakfast that keeps me full until midday.  I don’t think that’s too much to ask.

Weekdays i live on porridge and i love it but hot breakfasts on warm days don’t really go together and i’m always looking for ways to get an extra 30 seconds on the snooze button so i’ve been trying overnight oats a few times (no cooking time see).  They’ve always been ok, not great, just ok.  Other bloggers rave about their overnight oats so i guessed i was doing something wrong as mine looked like the gruel they served Oliver (you getting the post title now???).

That all changed when i read Running to the Kitchen recently where she posted about her Almond Joy Oats.  Now i’m not a massive fan of coconut, or following recipes, so i didn’t make her exact recipe but i had to try almond essence in my oats.  It is AMAZING.

OK it still looks like gruel but i promise you, if you like almonds you have to try this.  It’s soooo good.  And those are blueberries by the way!

Tomorrow I have my first Touch Rugby training.  Some friends and I have joined a mixed league.  None of us have ever played before so it should be pretty funny.  Apparently you get a point for just turning up to each game so we are banking on getting lots of those.  If anyone has any Touch Rugby tips please, please throw them my way – we need all the help we can get.  Oh yeah and our team shirts are fluorescent lime green.  Now i like bright stuff but wow!  Pictures may come shortly!

4 Responses to “never before has a girl asked for more”

  1. Enter, Fitness! May 4, 2012 at 6:08 am #

    This recipe is amazing. Every morning I make 1/2-cup of oatmeal using — 1/2-cup oatmeal with about 1/4-cup water, some chopped almonds or walnuts, and I sprinkle shredded coconut that I keep in the freezer and microwave for 1 minute. Who knew the only amazing thing that was missing from my oatmeal is the almond extract! I even have some! THANK YOU!

  2. joyfitnessandstyle May 4, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    OK, you have me convinced to try this. I always eat the quick oats – cuz their quick, but this sound really good!

    • dawninwonderland May 4, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      cool! hope you like it – i use the jumbo, cheap as you like, unprocessed oats. i don’t know if that makes any difference though (i’m so helpful, i know!).

Leave a Reply

