how i’m getting myself out of my injury funk

20 May

Yes i know i’ve only been out of commission since Wednesday evening but it really is getting me down that i can’t do any physical exercise at the moment apart from a very slow pathetic hobble on my sexy crutches.  On Thursday night i was very down and looking at these made me feel very sad…

all my little Nuun all lined up like soldiers waiting to replace my electrolytes

poor little lonely Garmin

So i did what any self respecting girl would do, i Googled how to survive your injury funk.  After trawling through many articles on how to survive bear attacks, earthquakes, zombie attacks and the end of the world (seriously – who is an expert on that?!?) I found this awesome article by a lady who’s blog i already follow – 10 ways to survive your injury without being a being a b*tch by Shutupandrun.  So i’ve learnt not to google my injury (it seems those people who healed very quickly without any complications hardly ever post about their suffering and there are plenty of people out there who don’t trust people who’ve spent about 300 years putting themselves through med school and decide to make up their own treatments!).  I also need to put my injury into perspective – there are people waaaay worse off than me and in a short while this will all be a distant (maybe even quite funny) memory.

I now need to change my training plan.  I have physio tomorrow so i will be asking when i can start cross training.  I’d like to start swimming and pilates as soon as possible so i lose minimal amount of fitness.  As soon as i’ve got no pain or discomfort i’ll be back on the bike too.  Running may have to take a back seat for a little while.

I also need to learn a lesson here.  If i could go all Marty McFly and write to myself a week ago it would go something like this –

Dear Dawn,

Before you play Touch Rugby on Wednesday warm up you big dingus!  And while you’re at it if a man is sprinting at you with the ball and the fastest guy on your team is already after him don’t feel the need to get your own tackle attempt in their too!  You’re really not a hero!

Love Dawn

ps if you should still decide you don’t like your knee facing in the usual straight line and decide to experiment with running on a sideways facing foot then less of the amateur dramatics afterwards please, its just embarrassing.  

This has made me realise how active i actually am and how much i love it.  I’m glad that i love something so much it makes me blue that i can’t do it but i’m not so dramatic that i know i’ll never do it again. This is also a golden opportunity to get all those other things done that i’ve neglected so far this year.  Tax return here i come….

I promise i’ll stop whining about my injury very soon and start coming up with some more slightly interesting posts.

Dawn x

7 Responses to “how i’m getting myself out of my injury funk”

  1. el wendigo May 20, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    Funny the tubs of electrolites, waiting for their chance to be of good service :D! In my first ever marathon I just drunk water and ate dates. It worked!

    • dawninwonderland May 20, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      mmmm yummy dates. think i’d end up scoffing them all before the run though!!

      • el wendigo May 20, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

        The temptation was there alright, how to deny it? 🙂

  2. Megan@ Run Like a Grl May 21, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    So sorry you got injured, I know how much it sucks! My Timex GPS was collecting dust for about a month until recently. And my normal runs now are way shorter. But you will run again so don’t worry, you’ll get through it! As much as crosstraining isn’t as fun as running, at least its something (thats what I tell myself!)

    • dawninwonderland May 21, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      thank you – that’s very sweet. hope you are injury free now x

  3. Saving My Belly Button Ring May 21, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I wish for you a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

