so what’s the deal with Kinesio tape?

24 May

I had a different physiotherapist on Monday and after more than an hour of torture strengthening exercises she trussed my knee up like this –

This is kinesio tape.  I’ve seen it on athletes and friends after injuries and from what i understand it can be used for various purposes.  It can add support, stop things moving around or it can be used for its alleged intrinsic properties.  Wikipedia (man i love that site) says that advocates claim that the wave pattern found on the tape’s adhesive has a lifting effect on the skin which can reduce swelling and inflammation by improving circulation and reduce pain by taking pressure off pain receptors.

My physiotherapist specifically used the pattern above to help move the fluid in my knee and to reduce swelling (i know pretty gross huh?).  I’ve got to say i’m not overly convinced.  The swelling is going down but i’m kinda guessing it would have anyway.  I wouldn’t invest in it anyway but i’m always open to trying new things so wouldn’t say no if she wanted to use it again.

I had my original physiotherapist today and after lots of horrible exercises she got dug into some huge knots in my quads and everything is feeling soooo much better as a result.  She even had me doing one legged squats.  Still not up to running, pretty much still mastering walking (got the bambi thing going on at the mo) but very happy with my progress.

Anyone else used kinesio tape?  What’s your verdict?

3 Responses to “so what’s the deal with Kinesio tape?”

  1. joyfitnessandstyle May 24, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    Wow, I’ve used tape and have taken a couple classes on it – like 10 years ago. I haven’t seen that technique before! Interesting – I’ll have to look into that.

  2. halfheartedgymjunkie May 25, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Oh Dawn I’ve just come back from vacation to read about your injury – I’m so sorry to hear that! What a pain. But you what I was injured in February and it made me so much more motivated when I got better, because it really made me appreciate my body functioning well so much more, if that makes sense. I hope that works out for you too! Feel better soon! xx

    • dawninwonderland May 25, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

      ah thanks – i’m already feeling loads better although still got a bit of a hobble on!! You’re so right about the perspective, i’m so motivated to get back into my training plan now. Hope you had an amazing holiday x

Leave a Reply

