rollin’ with my homies

31 May

Foam rolling has been an essential part of a lot of active people’s lives for a while now and is excellent for removing knots and easing out generally tight muscles.  I’ve used foam rollers in Pilates classes before but never taken the plunge and bought my own.

When my physiotherapist actually made me drop an f bomb yesterday massaging out my quads i decided i’d get rolling every day to loosen them up so i invested in the best roller money can buy…

Now if you’re thinking, that’s just her kitchen rolling pin you’d be so wrong.  This is state of the art stuff – nothing but the best for me.

OK, ok it is my rolling pin but it does the trick – in fact its so hard it might even do it better!  It seems to be loosening those quads and i’ve only got myself to swear at when it hurts.  My internet research says you should focus on tight areas for about 35 seconds each.  I think the theory is if something’s a bit uncomfortable then you make it hurt like a beatch for 35 seconds when you stop it will feel like heaven.  Its science.

In other news i went to my yoga class tonight. After 15 days of no exercise it was lovely to do something.

Do you use any household objects as workout items?  My dip station is two wooden chairs with cushions draped over them!

10 Responses to “rollin’ with my homies”

  1. John May 31, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Love it! Will be getting the rolling pin out of my kitchen to give it a go. I also use the DIY approach, using a frozen water bottle as a roller, see, http://fitfor365.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/relief-in-a-bottle/

    • dawninwonderland May 31, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      wow that’s such a good idea (although slightly on the tortuous side) i’m going to try that out. Thanks.

      • John May 31, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

        It really works and the cold has a slight anaesthetic affect.

  2. John May 31, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Just tried it, I think I’ve found my latest home therapy aid!

  3. John June 1, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Reblogged this on Fit for a year and commented:
    A great idea!

  4. Tammy June 2, 2012 at 5:56 am #

    I haven’t tried foam (or rolling pin) rolling before, but I’ve read it’s really great for muscles. I HAVE used my dog’s ball to massage my leg before. It’s similar to foam rolling, only you use a ball for a more spot-specific area. I was having issues with my ankle/lower leg and my trainer at the time told me to get a ball and roll my outer leg muscles over it for a few minutes every night to help loosen the muscle tension a bit. It worked pretty well, and my dog was very gracious to lend me his toy. 😉

    • dawninwonderland June 2, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      Cool – i don’t think my cats would be as gracious with their toys though!! I do love to roll a tennis ball under my feet after a run though to relieve any tightness, i’ll try it on my legs later.

  5. Carey Povey June 3, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    cans of soup or empty milk bottles filled with water as dumbells 🙂 does the trick 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home physiotherapy #1 | Fit for a year - June 2, 2012

    […] is my home physiotherapy kit. It consists of  a rolling pin (inspired by the post, rollin’ with my homies by dawninwonderland) a frozen water bottle, an old bag of frozen peas and a yoga mat. I’ll […]

Leave a Reply

