thanks for the holidays Queenie

5 Jun

Thanks to the lovely Queen i’ve had four whole days off work!!  A – wooo – hoo!!  A little recap…

I ate this amazing dessert, after an amazing dinner, cooked by my lovely friend Caroline.  She is some kinda domestic goddess that i could never be.

I cycled!! Yay!  If you’ve been reading my blog lately you’ll know that three weeks ago i badly twisted my knee playing Touch Rugby and have been unable to do any kind of exercise since (other than boring old physio exercises).  On Sunday i did a small cycle ride (about 2 miles) and i was so happy.  I can’t say my knee wasn’t sore but it didn’t get any worse.  Makes me very smiley!

I also managed some pilates.  I love Suzanne Bowen’s 10 Minute Solutions series and i did two segments of her Perfect Pilates Body this morning.  I’m going to try and fit this in every day until i’m back up and running (and hopefully continue as much as possible while i’m running).  Not just to keep me in shape but to strengthen and prevent injury in the future.  Good sense methinks.

I made thai green curry.  It’s not culinary genius – it’s just curry paste, coconut milk and veg but it’s yummy.  I had brown rice with it.  I’m never 100% sure whether brown rice is that great for you as there’s so much conflicting advice out there about how hard it is to digest but i like the taste so whatever!

We went swimming in the sea.  To put this in perspective people i don’t live in California, i live in the UK.  The average sea temp for June is just 14°.  You’d be happy if you were served your G&T at that temperature.  It was seriously refreshing though and totally worth it.  It was high tide, the sand was white and the water was crystal clear.  Once my body went numb the water felt wonderful.  I felt amazing afterwards and vowed to go again as much as possible.  Then it rained today.  Oh well.

I hope you’ve all had fantastic weekends.  What’s your favourite exercise DVD?  Is there one you always go back to?

4 Responses to “thanks for the holidays Queenie”

  1. carol June 6, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    That dessert looks delicious.

    Honestly, that swim in cold water sounds like torture. Give me a pool with bathtub temperatures any day.

    • dawninwonderland June 6, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      mmm it was scrummy. The swim was really invigorating but i gotta agree – warm water totally beats freezing swims – sometimes you’ve got to go with what you got though!

  2. hanna June 12, 2012 at 12:25 am #

    I wanted to come by and say THANK YOU so much for your sweet comments on my blog. I must say I feel like a rock star!!!!!! Have a beautiful day!!!!

    • dawninwonderland June 12, 2012 at 7:40 am #

      it was a pleasure and you should feel like a rock star!!! You’re amazing. Thank you for stopping by x

Leave a Reply

